We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Thinking of Visiting in October

Kent, England
Level Contributor
238 posts
78 reviews
Save Topic
Thinking of Visiting in October

My husband and I are thinking of visiting Madeira from Oct 1st-8th. I must admit that we don't know an awful lot of Madeira, apart from that its meant to be beautiful. I am an avid amatuer photographer and love taking photos of the landscape, nature, etc.

We really just want a week of chilling out though. We aren't in to drinking or partying, but do enjoy good, fresh food.

Do you think that a week is long enough? Where is the best place to stay? Will there be enough activities to keep us entertained? Should we look at hiring a car?

Any tips or advice on excusions, the best area to base ourselves in or info on the weather at this time of year would be greatly appreciated.

Mentioned in this post
Madeira
Madeira
Madeira Islands, Portugal
England, United...
Level Contributor
1,840 posts
87 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Thinking of Visiting in October

From your description, Madeira sounds perfect for you and it can be whatever you want it to be from a relaxing break to an energetic, adventurous holiday. Either way there is so much opportunity for taking good photographs. It's worth taking a look at this website to give you a feel for the many things you can do.

http://www.madeira-web.com/PagesUK/index.html

I never find a week long enough but everyone is different and a week will give you an opportunity to see if Madeira is for you.

I think it would be best to stay in Funchal as it is a very pretty town with lots of good restaurants. It also has easy access to other parts of the island by organised tours, catamaran, bus, cable car, hire car or you can hire a taxi for the day.