We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Help with ferries from Athens to the Greek Islands please

Manchester, United...
Level Contributor
477 posts
5 reviews
Save Topic
Help with ferries from Athens to the Greek Islands please

Hello

This is my first time posting to this forum and I’m looking for some advice about using ferries to get to the Greek Islands please.

I’m at the very early stages of thinking about where I’d like to go on holiday to this summer and at present I’m thinking of a nice quiet Greek Island.

I’m assuming that the best way to get to one of

these islands is by ferry from Athens?

Does anybody know the easiest way for me to find out which islands are served by direct ferries from Athens and their frequency?

I don’t want to arrive by plane in Athens on a Monday only to find the first ferry to my holiday destination is not till say the Wednesday!!!

I did a very quick 'google search' and the ports where listed by their name and not the name of the Island they are on.

Thank you

PS If anybody knows of any lovely quiet Greek Islands where the night life is nothing more than a few drinks in local taverna and the island has lovely quiet sandy beaches then please private message me with that info thank you :-)

Mentioned in this post
Athens
Athens
Attica, Greece
Kamloops, BC...
Level Contributor
9,743 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Help with ferries from Athens to the Greek Islands please

The easiest way to get the information that you're looking for is to buy a couple of food guide books - one for Athens and the mainland, and the other for the islands. Read them and you'll have a good idea of which islands mot interest you and you'll be able to search the ferry web sites.

Mentioned in this post
Athens
Athens
Attica, Greece
Kamloops, BC...
Level Contributor
9,743 posts
Save Reply