We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Amazing sailing cruise in Greek islands

Oxford, United...
2 posts
Amazing sailing cruise in Greek islands

We had come for the sailing. David and I had always wanted to sail round the Greek islands, but it was clear this was not likely as David is not very mobile and I have little sailing experience and we are both well into our 70s.. So when I saw the advert by Eclipse Sailing www.eclipsesailing.gr in the Oxford University magazine, Oxford Today, with a picture of Nereida, a 45ft ketch, Genoa jib, Bermuda main sail and mizzen for sailing in Greece on the Pagasitic gulf and the Sporades, I wrote to Charlotte Glascock. Charlotte agreed to take us on. It was wonderful.

The boat was built by John Alden in 1982, a Renna style, and is very beautiful and sits well on the water, it has a long keel, which I think I am right in saying makes for speed and balance. There is another Greek skipper, Marios, also part owner. Charlotte and he looked at over 2000 boats before buying this one in 2012. Charlotte was given her first sailing boat when she was 6 and Marios is into racing, along with his young son, Costis. It was just us and another couple, who both had some sailing experience and made for very pleasant companions.