We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best place to buy an icon and some quality handicrafts?

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
434 posts
43 reviews
Save Topic
Best place to buy an icon and some quality handicrafts?

Advice requested!

When I think back on what I have bought on various trips, most destinations had only one purchase I ended up cherishing. In each case it was something made by hand. I am an artist and craftsman myself: which means though I know good workmanship when I see it: I often can’t afford it.

Reproductions are fine: as long as they don’t scream “reproduction,” as when some one makes a clumsy cast of a statue in resin and you can still see the mold marks and the bubbles. I came home almost empty handed from Egypt 5 years ago, because all the shops our group visited had the most crude cheap looking stuff.

I spent a lot of time studying classical Greek pottery in art history. So a good repro of black figure or red figure would be great. I love Byzantine art as well as classical.

I’ll be in Santorini first: if they are known for some kind of handicraft, let me know. Thanks!

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
1,073 posts
78 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Best place to buy an icon and some quality handicrafts?

If you want to purchase quality items, then I recommend visiting the giftshops attached to the many museums in Athens such as Benaki and Cycladic Art

http://hellenicmuseumsshop.com

www.cycladic.gr/frontoffice/portal.asp…

For Icons, you will find stores in the area surrounding the Athens Cathedral which is on Mitropoleos (try Pandrosou St and Appolonos Streets)

Athens, Greece
Destination Expert
for Athens
Level Contributor
13,830 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Best place to buy an icon and some quality handicrafts?

Exactly what Ddtem wisely advised.