We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best places/areas to stay in Athens, greece?

Which Athens hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Hamilton, Canada
3 posts
Save Topic
Best places/areas to stay in Athens, greece?

Hi there

My boyfriend and I are planning a trip to greece for August 2014, planning on staying 10-14 days

Wondering which areas are the best to stay in? We were looking more central Athens.

An area with good food, and possible walking access to historical attractions.

Prefer to stay on the less expensive side (since i'm still a student), but are willing to pay a little more so we arent in a sketchy area.

any suggestions for hotels, or motels? all we need is a room double bed nothing fancy. maybe a more touristy area since we don't speak any greek (not that we arent willing to learn some lol)

and maybe some suggestions of places to visit! :) some hidey-hole awesome places

thanks for your help in advance!!

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
1,292 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Best places/areas to stay in Athens, greece?

Anything around Syntagma square, Monastiraki and Plaka areas will do just fine. There are many hotels there so you ll probably find something that will work for you. These are very central areas in walking distance from most sights and with plenty options for dining etc.

Avoid anything around Omonia sq, and on any of its side streets.

If you pick a hotel ask here first before booking in order to get advice regarding its location.

Dont worry about not speaking Greek. This is not Spain, France or Turkey... most Greeks can communicate in English in at least a basic level, and of course people working in Tourism most of the times speak fluently.

Devizes, United...
Level Contributor
40,216 posts
340 reviews
Save Reply