We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Greece for the FIRST time.

Sacramento...
Level Contributor
48 posts
6 reviews
Save Topic
Greece for the FIRST time.

Hi everyone, I need tips and suggestions about my first time to Greece with my girlfriend. This is my first time out of the United States as well. Thinking about doing Greece in June. Dates are most likely going to be June 2 - June 13. Flying from Sacramento, CA. Budget of $7000 US dollars and that's including the flight money for two people. Flight will be around $3200 so I have $3800 left for everything else. Hoping to spend around $100 US dollars per night on hotels. Trying to budget. Want to do an island as well while in Greece. Was thinking about Santorini and flying there when we first get to Athens as I heard it was better to do the islands first than come back to Athens and do everything else. I looked at Aegean airlines and it will be approximately around 350 US dollars for round trip for two people from Athens to Santorini. We want to spend 3-4 nights in Santorini. Will that be enough? After we get back to Athens from Santorini we will most likely stay another 5-6 nights in Athens to explore everything else. We want to stay near the Acropolis and everything else. Is it wise to rent a car? or should we just take the bus or metro? I'm thinking after flights and hotel costs, we will have about $2000 US dollars left for food and everything else. How much on average will we spend on food? Breakfast, lunch, and dinner? Doesn't have to be fancy food or anything. Also fees to get into attractions such as museums and what not? Any feedback/info would be great. Thanks again everyone.

Delphi,Greece
Destination Expert
for Delphi
Level Contributor
6,120 posts
87 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Greece for the FIRST time.