We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

street food and in Athens

Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
42 posts
20 reviews
Save Topic
street food and in Athens

I will spend one day in Athens on September and I would like to know if there are close street food options around the syntagma square? I'm a student with a budget.

It's ok if you can give me name of streets because I use the maps of the Iphone.

Especially I would like to know about a nearby place for Souvlaki ;)

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3,082 posts
26 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: street food and in Athens

Syntagma down to Monastiraki is full of small shops selling cheese pies,spinach pies,sandwiches, there is a souvlaki shop next to McDonalds in Ermou street and many more in Mitropoleos street at Monastiraki sq,Everest shops sell good cappucino and esspreso for 1,30-2 euros.at Andrianou street next to Monastiraki metro station lots of tavernas,food is not expensive in Athens unless it's fish.

Oslo, Norway
Destination Expert
for Oslo, Naxos, Norway
Level Contributor
22,561 posts
43 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: street food and in Athens

On Syntagma Square you find Everest and McDonalds.

New York, NY
Level Contributor
919 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: street food and in Athens

Meatropoleos on the south side of Syntagma Square...you can get a stick (or a few) of souvlaki, pretty inexpensively. The souvlaki places near Monastiraki Sq. are historic but, IMO, not the best quality and a bit tourist-trappish.