We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Grateful for updated info please?

Cheltenham, UK
Level Contributor
12 posts
9 reviews
Save Topic
Grateful for updated info please?

Hi,

I wonder if anyone could offer any advice please? I've been staying in Sitia on and off since 1988 and really love it on the basis of being a bit smaller and less touristy than some of the other resorts. This year I have a wad of Tesco vouchers and was thinking of using them with Cosmos who are, admittedly, quite limited in destination choice.

The last time I stopped in Agios Nikolaos was 1990 (so guess it has changed and they no longer play Jive Bunny in all the clubs!!) I don't think I've ever been to Rethymonon and Elounda and realise that the Crete I profess to know so well is actually about fifteen miles of the far north east coast...

I realise they are perhaps all bigger and more touristy than Sitia but wondered if anyone could suggest which, if any, might suit.

We also love Puerto de Soller in Mallorca (and St. Malo in Brittany when it doesn't rain... ) which has a wonderful old town and a small bunch of more upmarket hotels along the sea-front. In Sitia we tend to go independently and stay in a basic apartment right above the tavernas across the road from the beach. I'd love a charming, more up-market, perhaps old town with a good selection of tavernas but less emphasis on the bars / clubs - if that isn't too tall an order!!

The hotels in the Cosmos brochure appear to be based either slightly out of town or on the tourist strip so we're certainly not going to be right in the middle of things but I hate being trapped in a hotel so want to make sure there's a lovely town, not too far away, to mooch around too.