We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Electrical Outlets

Bakersfield...
Level Contributor
35 posts
44 reviews
Save Topic
Electrical Outlets

Hi All- Will be taking my first trip to Greece in early May and am wondering if anyone could help me out with information on the electrical outlet adapters. We are coming from the United States and I have heard stories about people not being able to use their hair dryers and hair straighteners, even with the universal plugs. Does anyone have a website link for a particular plug you know will work for the hot appliances like that?

Also, do the cave hotels (particularly the family owned and operated type) offer clothes irons in the room like they do in the US?

Thank you for any help you may have! This is my first time out of the country so there are a lot of little things I'm not sure of! :)

Birmingham, United...
Level Contributor
11,833 posts
15 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Electrical Outlets

Hi,

Leave those 'power appliances' at home. They don't have universal voltage capabilities. Greece is 230 vac.

You would need to have a voltage convertor(transformer), not just a plug convertor.

Smaller low power devices like phones, tablets, electric razors etc almost always have universal 100-240 vac power capability.

The answer is just buy such 'power appliances' whilst in Greece, or do without.

You won't find irons in hotel rooms, never seen such a thing. You won't need one, creased is the new ironed....

However Greeks are very helpful and undoubtedly will find an iron if you really want one.

Toronto
Destination Expert
for Mykonos
Level Contributor
7,072 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Electrical Outlets

Most hotels have wall-mounted hair dryers in either the bathrooms or in the main part of the hotel rooms.