We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sifnos Greece: Where to Stay (towns) and What to Do

Danville, California
Level Contributor
198 posts
12 reviews
Save Topic
Sifnos Greece: Where to Stay (towns) and What to Do

I'm just beginning research...I am wondering if the island is large enough to divide our time between two areas? An additional question: is it possible (and easy) to take the bus as opposed to renting a car? I saw the reviews about the Nymphes Hotel and Delphini Hotel--both sound lovely. Any more feedback on the island itself and places of interest? Is a week enough/too much time for exploring and enjoying the sea? I'm going to post a question about Mykonos and Santorini as well. I'll start a new topic. VagabundaLoca

S Wales
Level Contributor
87 posts
57 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Sifnos Greece: Where to Stay (towns) and What to Do

Sifnos is miles apart from Santorini or Mykonos - the latter two islands are hoplessly over-exploited

and expensive. (Couple of cruise ships daily).

Although saying that a day in Mykonos Town and a couple of days on Santorini is a must.

Naxos and Paros are great islands and far less exploited commercially.

Anyway back to Sifnos, we stayed recently in Kamares which is the Port also. Staying at the lovely Boufounis Studios, very clean and very convenient for the little shops,bars,restaurants etc.Beach about 150yards.We hired a car just for 1 day to visit Faros,Platys Yialos etc in the South - brilliant !

Probably 4 days Sifnos,3 Santorini,2 Mykonos,4 Naxos

would be a good mix.

We have visited 22 islands over the last 3 years and cannot get enough of the smaller Greek Islands.

Best of luck.

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
4,208 posts
1 review
Save Reply
2. Re: Sifnos Greece: Where to Stay (towns) and What to Do