We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

First time visiting Rhodes - best city to stay in?

Rome, Italy
3 posts
Save Topic
First time visiting Rhodes - best city to stay in?

I am a college student traveling for a 3 day weekend in early October with my girlfriend. From what I've read, Old Rhodes is a must see and there is bus service to most of the island.

I have found some reasonably priced hotels in the city of Rhodes. We were thinking of staying there for the 3 days and taking trips to see other parts of the island such as Lindos.

Is that what you guys would recommend? Its seems like the city is amazing but we also want to see the beaches as well. Is it best to stay in the city of Rhodes and travel other places? And what should I expect in terms of cost when traveling to another city, for example Lindos?

Oslo, Norway
Destination Expert
for Oslo, Naxos, Norway
Level Contributor
21,964 posts
45 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: First time visiting Rhodes - best city to stay in?

For doing day excursions on the island for other towns\villages and beaches Rhodes town is the obvious choice - being the hub for public transport around the island. You will also have the Old Town at your doorstep, which can well occupy you for one day.

Edited: 10 September 2011, 20:21
Sale, United Kingdom
Destination Expert
for Crete
Level Contributor
10,920 posts
82 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: First time visiting Rhodes - best city to stay in?

I agree totally with greek-traveller. Rhodes town has so much to see, and has a much wider choice of accommodation. This link gives you an indication of the bus service to Lindos (and everywhere else) but best to check when you get there.

http://www.oasis-hotel.gr/buses/index.htm