We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

A student with 5 days in Sweden - what to do?

Dublin, Ohio
3 posts
Save Topic
A student with 5 days in Sweden - what to do?

Hey everyone, I'm a student going to Sweden for 5 full days in August, and am wondering how to spend my time. My flights are in and out of Stockholm so I was thinking of spending two days there, then maybe heading to Gothenburg for a day to do the Southern Archipelago boat tour and then maybe heading down to Copenhagen for two days. But maybe I should stay in Sweden and see a bit more of the country? I'd be up for seeing anything, though I suppose I might like to go to places that aren't going to be absolutely crawling with tourists, I don't mind going off the beaten track a bit. Would love to hear any advice.

Ps as I'm a student I'm kind of on a budget, I know Scandanavia is really expensive but I have wanted to go there for some time!

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
940 posts
66 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: A student with 5 days in Sweden - what to do?

5 days will blow by faster than you can imagine. I would advise you to scale back your ambitions for the area, given such a short time that you have there. Will you really have seen a place if you are constantly feeling that the next train is looming just a few hours away? With 5 days, you would have 1 in Stockholm, 1 in Göteborg, and 1 in Copenhagen (unless you fly, which can be expensive), and the rest would be spent getting to here or there.