We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cameras for Northern Lights & recommended tour operators

Which Kiruna hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Malaysia
Level Contributor
297 posts
18 reviews
Save Topic
Cameras for Northern Lights & recommended tour operators

Hi.

I would like to see the lights (possibly around Kiruna / Abisko) in mid-Jan, but I am no professional photographer.

I am only using a normal Panasonic Lumix digital camera (TZ-30).

Would anyone know if such cameras will work in cold conditions and does it sound insane for me to spend a fortune to see the lights but merely using a layman's camera ?

I have seen photos of people viewing the lights and they all seem to snapping away with sophisticated camera sets etc.

Also, are there any recommendations for a tour operator to Abisko/Kiruna, preferably departing from London ?

I know of a company called Discover the World, but their prices are rather steep.

Thanks.

Mjolby, Sweden
Destination Expert
for Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
1,266 posts
147 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Cameras for Northern Lights & recommended tour operators

Hi!

The Panasonic Lumix TZ30 seems to have manual settings for exposure so it could work.

I took the picture in my profile with an old Canon Powershot some years back, it was a fairly simple camera but it managed OK to capture the Northern Lights.

However, it is tricky to capture the lights on camera so I suggest that you start to practice your night time photography and get to know your camera. Or even better, join a photography course to make the most of your camera and your trip.

Can't comment on tour operators. Have you considered arranging something yourself? It will most likely be a lot cheaper.

Malaysia
Level Contributor
297 posts
18 reviews
Save Reply