We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

English language in Sweden?

London
Level Contributor
33 posts
English language in Sweden?

I am planning to move to Sweden from England this winter to work in a ski resort for a few months for the work experience. I've been studying Swedish for a few months now but then I read some statistics that 89% of people in Sweden speak English. Should I continue learning Swedish?

Virginia, USA
Level Contributor
596 posts
12 reviews
10 helpful votes
1. Re: English language in Sweden?

I think you should continue with Swedish class even though you can technically get by without it.

I'm an American who lived in Stockholm for two years. While I was in Stockholm, I took Swedish classes. However, I didn't actually need to use Swedish much. I worked on a project which had people from all over Europe so the language of the project was English. TV shows and movies are shown in the original language with Swedish subtitles. It is rare to be in a shop or restaurant where the person serving you doesn't speak English. Most people spoke English far better than I will ever Swedish. Where I mostly needed Swedish was in the grocery store or in restaurants.

WhenI returned to the U.S., I continued to take Swedish class. Something about the Swedish culture really gets under your skin. I love Sweden and when I returned to the States, I really missed it. There is something about understanding the language that helps you adapt and appreciate the culture.

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
959 posts
60 reviews
59 helpful votes
2. Re: English language in Sweden?