We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Helsinki at Christmas

Which Helsinki hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
London, United...
Level Contributor
24 posts
11 reviews
Save Topic
Helsinki at Christmas

Hello!

I am leaving London for Christmas this year and will be landing on the 23rd of December and leaving Helsinki on the 26th in the afternoon.

I am a photographer so my main aim is to photograph Helsinki while is all dark and empty (hopefully snowy as well).

I will be there on my own and would love to know if you know something I can do during these three days.

Also transportation wise from airport to the city centre and vice versa..

If you will be in Helsinki during these three days, let me know..we can even hang out together!

Vito

Finland
Destination Expert
for Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
4,846 posts
70 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Helsinki at Christmas

Pretty much everything will be closed from 24th noon till 26th noon. Churches will be crowded on 25th in the morning. Hietaniemi cemetary is candlelit during Xmas, worth visiting.

Finland
Level Contributor
894 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Helsinki at Christmas

Also see "Top questions about HELSINKI" -->

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
1,634 posts
19 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Helsinki at Christmas

You have chosen the right time for photographs about empty Helsinki, as during Xmas time everybody stays at home with family.

You could (weather permitting) go to Suomenlinna, or take a metro to Rastila in Vuosaari, (15 mins) where I have taken some fantastic photos, when there was mist and winter swimmers in the sea. Just an idea.

London, United...
Level Contributor
24 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Helsinki at Christmas

is the metro working on the 24?

Helsinki
Destination Expert
for Helsinki