We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Self drive: tour company or on our own?

Boston...
Level Contributor
2,664 posts
12 reviews
Save Topic
Self drive: tour company or on our own?

I am just beginning to plan for September to drive the Ring. We hope to do 7-8 days.

I see that some people use tour companies that arrange your accomodation on your drive, and others rent cars and arrange accomodation themselves.

Is there a preferable way? Is one generally less expensive than the other?

Thank you

Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
10,094 posts
59 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Self drive: tour company or on our own?

Yeah... Hamlet had a similar dilemma - slightly different subject though.

I think there's no 'right / wrong' with this question. It depends where you place the emphasis, what is important for you. Some folks have great fun organizing the whole vacation (and by the way, it takes a lot of time to organize a self drive), whereas for others, the work involved and the learning involved would be a burden, and would gladly have it done, ready-to-go.

As for prices, I think it's 'obvious' that a person can scrap endlessly from costs when you D.I.Y. And some say that the trouble doesn't pay off.

I don't think anybody can give an objective answer to that - won't it always be based on our own personal preferences, experience, and budget?

Best regards!

Bangor NI
Level Contributor
16 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Self drive: tour company or on our own?

Myself and two friends are going to Iceland in May. We were tempted to opt for the organised self-drive tour.

As we had plenty of time, we decided to do it ourselves. Doing your own research on routes, what to see and where to stay will give you a better knowledge of the country.