We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Iceland Unlimited Self Drive Tour - Trip Report

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
46 posts
33 reviews
Save Topic
Iceland Unlimited Self Drive Tour - Trip Report

For those of you who are considering whether to to arrange your own tour or purchase a self drive package, I thought I would share my experience.

We were in Iceland for the last week of May. As I was planning the trip I found myself overwhelmed by the options and since work commitments meant I had limited time, I eventually decided to go through a tour operator. I have been traveling for 30 years, and this was the first time I used a tour operator to plan for me, so I was a little nervous about relinquishing control and whether it would be worth the additional expense.

We opted for the South Island tour up to Hofn and back, and made some minor changes to the itinerary suggested. For one thing, we decided to stay at the Blue Lagoon Clinic Hotel the first night, so the car rental company sent representatives to meet us at the airport, provide us with our package from Iceland Unlimited and sent us on our way. This added to our costs given the difference in price from the hotel in Reykjavik and that we had the car for an additional day, but we knew we would prefer driving around this region over walking around the city on our first day. This also meant that I did not meet with anyone from IU before setting out on our trip, but that was fine. I was given a cell phone I could use to call them if there were any concerns, and I did not have to use this.

I was given a map with our route highlighted as well as some handwritten commentary on things I might find interesting. This was helpful, especially the first day as we were very tired and jet lagged and did not want to think for ourselves.