We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hurtigruten trip - June

Durban
Level Contributor
232 posts
224 reviews
Save Topic
Hurtigruten trip - June

hi, I've booked to do this trip on the Polarlys in June, going from Alesund to Honnigsvag.

would like some idea of prices for food in the cafe - I haven't booked any meals, but I understand that the food and snacks available in the cafe are quite comprehensive.

I'd also like to know what the outside deck area is like on this ship. I'm a very keen photographer, and depending on the weather, would like to spend a good bit of time outside.

thanks

Andrew

Belfast, United...
Level Contributor
822 posts
60 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Hurtigruten trip - June

Anfield33, I have just returned from a trip Bergrn to Kirkenes on the Finnmarken. I was booked half board (breakfast and dinner) and think it was better value than the cafe. An open sandwich with beef and salad was 95 Kn (£9.50 Uk money if that is any help), I don't know how much the main meals at dinner cost or what there was as I didn't need them. The coffee deal is good if you drink a lot of coffee - 210 Kn (£21) for an insulated mug which you can refill as often as you want.

There was lots of deck space on the Finnmarken and I would think the Polarlys would be similar. It was IMO the best holiday I have ever had and I spend almost all of my time on deck in all weathers (you are supplied with a rug in your cabin). There was a large panoramic lounge but I did't feel you could experience this wornderful journey looking through a window. There are lots of chairs on deck but make sure you find a sheltered spot as the wind on some parts of the deck could almost blow you over!

I hpe you have a lovely trip on the most beautiful voyage in the world.

Durban
Level Contributor
232 posts
224 reviews