We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Complimentary ticket to Ipswich. What to do/see there?

Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
151 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Complimentary ticket to Ipswich. What to do/see there?

I am a foreign student quite keen on exploring new places, interested in culture and history rather than booze and partying, and got a free return ticket London <> Ipswich by a friend who isn't traveling there anymore.

Before going there however, I wanted to ask what I can find there, whether it is worth it to do a day trip, and any special things to do and see.

Online search didn't provide much useful/interesting information so far.

Would appreciate guidance!

London
Destination Expert
for London
Level Contributor
20,678 posts
45 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Complimentary ticket to Ipswich. What to do/see there?

You've got a free ticket? Of course it's worth going there!

It is a fine old East Anglian town with many old buildings, a rejuvenated waterfront, and is seriously under-rated IMO.

Typing 'Ipswich tourist information' into Google Search brought up this:

http://www.visit-ipswich.com/

Bonn, Germany
Level Contributor
151 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Complimentary ticket to Ipswich. What to do/see there?

Thank you! I saw that website already.

I just thought someone might have more "must see/must do" or "insider" tips =)

(e.g. I usually read Wikipedia/similar article about a place before traveling there and decide what to see based on that... but Ipswich seems to be quite unknown, sorry =) )

Essex
Level Contributor
28,240 posts
69 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Complimentary ticket to Ipswich. What to do/see there?

Well, then perhaps you should go and explore it, and then edit the Wikipedia article yourself and update it, eh??

http://www.ipswichlife.com/

London