We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Where to go & what to do in the Isle of Man

Manchester, United...
Level Contributor
1 post
16 reviews
Save Topic
Where to go & what to do in the Isle of Man

I’ve been visiting the Island for nearly 40 years on family holidays, day trips, motorcycle tours etc. If, like me, you like to get the feel of a place in order to appreciate what might not seem obvious to the casual visitor then I think you need to do a bit of preparation prior to exploring the Island. The diversity of interest in such a limited space is staggering and a bit of prior research would pay dividends when it comes to making the most of your visit.

For a short break I suggest a visit to both the Manx Museum in Douglas and its sister, the House of Manannan in Peel, as your first ports of call. These are without a doubt my two favourite museums anywhere, and a day spent here would give you a fabulous start when it comes to adventures in the field. If time is really limited then I would at least try to spend a couple of hours in one of them: Manx Museum for natural history, geography , agriculture, history of tourism/TT, art, literature and music; House of Manannan for Celtic & Viking history, the fishing industry and the Island’s maritime heritage.