We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

I am really confused!

Jersey City, New...
Level Contributor
986 posts
35 reviews
Save Topic
I am really confused!

Hi there!

I am just beginning to plan my very first trip to Italy - which has been my dream destination for a long time.

I have always put it off because I feel like I would need about 6 months to experience it fully!

I realize now that that may never happen so we decided to book a mere one week trip!

So far, I have 3 nights booked in Rome, and 2 nights booked in Paestum.

The 2 places I have always dreamed of seeing are - the Amalfi coast and the ruins at Pompei and Herculaneum.

I was thinking that if I stay in Salerno for the last 2 nights - OR is it Sorrento (Sorry brain freeze right now) - I could possibly get to do both.

I am, however not the type of person who thinks "quantity over quality" nor am I a "rush around - must check my list off" - type person.

I would much rather "experience" Italy - rather than "Seeing Italy" - if you know what I mean.

So I might be aiming too high here.

My gut is that I should just extend my stay in Paestum, and possibly do a day trip from there to Pompei(or is it too far and difficult to travel from there - we won't be driving - so train or buses)

Or should we just move on and spend our last 2 nights in Pompei?

(I'm sure I will be utterly amazed by Pompei - and definitely don't want to rush through it)

Or should we give up a night in Rome and stop in Pompei for a night on our way to Paestum?

And then spen the last 2 nights on the coast (or still relaxing in Paestum??)

Any help/advice/two cents will be appreciated.

Thank you so much!!

Cheers

Mentioned in this post
Italy
Italy
Europe
Rome
Rome
Lazio, Italy
Paestum
Paestum
Capaccio-Paestum, Italy
Salerno
Salerno
Amalfi Coast, Italy
Sorrento