We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

9students traveling to Bingen am Rhein in winter.HELP needed

jakarta
Level Contributor
36 posts
1 review
Save Topic
9students traveling to Bingen am Rhein in winter.HELP needed

We will arrive at Frankfurt airport (FRA) on Saturday morning at 06:00am on 29 March 2014. I am a teacher travelling with 9 students (between 15 and 17 years old). There are 10 of us in total.

We are thinking of staying at either Bingen or Ruedesheim. Any suggestions which town to stay? - considering I’m taking 9 teenagers with me. I don’t want them to get bored. Teenagers have a short attention span :)

We'd like to spend our time on a short Rhine cruise and visit several towns for the castles and other sights. However, our trip is at the end of March 2014, and I'm having trouble finding boats/cruises/ferries that run during this winter period. We want to be able to hop on and off the ferries/boats and trains/buses to the villages on the Rhine’s left bank (eg Bingen, Bacharach, Boppard, St Goar) and right-bank villages (Assmannshausen, St. Goarshausen, Braubach).

We are leaving Bingen/Ruedesheim for Cologne (Koeln) on Monday,31 March. We have to get to Cologne by 4pm the latest on Monday 31 March. Are 2 nights enough time to spend to see the main villages of the Romantic Rhine?

We are thinking of buying the HAPPY WEEKEND PASS (Schoenes-Wochenende Ticket to be used on Saturday, 29 March – the day we arrive in Germany) to go directly from FRA airport to Bingen/Ruedesheimer. We are also thinking of buying another Happy Weekend Pass (to be used on Sunday, 30 March).Are these the right tickets for us to buy?

This is our first time going to Germany and I don't know where to start. Any suggestions? Thanks very much.

Boppard, Germany
Destination Expert
for Boppard
Level Contributor