We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

dreaming of Cushendall

Vieques
Level Contributor
3,531 posts
35 reviews
Save Topic
dreaming of Cushendall

Two years ago we drove thru Cushendall on a three week trip to Ireland and I have not been able to get this village out of my mind.

I am a painter and my talented guitar playing/singing husband want to spend maybe 10 days in a village in Anrtrim. I want to paint and he wants to play along with local musicians for 7-10 days .We tend to travel off season.

Is this town for us, is there a music scene we can jump into short term, will he be welcome in tne pubs? we wondered about the Curfew Tower but all the info on line is old???

4 replies to this topic
Northern Ireland...
Level Contributor
7 posts
27 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: dreaming of Cushendall

hi

Cushendall is fantastic any time of year. As an artist you might be interested that the Curfrew Tower is available to artists for residency of 2-4 weeks - follow this link for more details cushendall.info/tourism/curfew_artists.htm. The tower is owned by the artist Bill Drummond and he makes it a condition that artists actively engage with the locals.

There is 1 of the best traditional music pubs around, just 30 seconds staggering distance from the tower - Jonny Joes . Anyone who is brave enough to play is welcome and when really busy its not unusual to have music going, both trad and non-trad - in 4 rooms - there is a cupbard with 4 guitars available if you've forgotten yours! There are also 2 pianos. This link is to their website with a webcam to 1 of the rooms. http://www.mccollamsbar.com/index.html

Hope this is of some help.

Vieques
Level Contributor
3,531 posts
35 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: dreaming of Cushendall

Thanks,that is so helpful