We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Is a side trip to Birr justified??

Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
79 posts
Save Topic
Is a side trip to Birr justified??

We'll be making our way mostly around the perimeter of the country, from Dublin - Kilkenny - Cork - Killarney - Galway - Mayo - Sligo - Donegal - and some route back to Dublin, just to give you an idea. Are the grounds or the telescope at Birr Castle worth diverting to an area we wouldn't otherwise be in? I am a retired engineer, so it sounds interesting, but we will certainly be seeing plenty of other fine things during our trip. I was speculating that if this were "that" special, I would have read about it before during my exhaustive planning (although I certainly was never looking in this area).

What do you think??? Worth the (not insignificant) effort?

Thanks........

11 replies to this topic
Limerick, Ireland
Destination Expert
for Limerick, Killarney
Level Contributor
27,653 posts
85 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Is a side trip to Birr justified??

I think only you can work this one out. You have a huge amount already included.

This is the link to the Birr Castle website http://www.birrcastle.com/

I'm very interested in the Industrial Revolution (there are overlaps with engineering!!). While I enjoyed Birr, I'm far more fascinated by Ironbridge Gorge in the UK. And found the automated packing display in Cadbury World in Birmingham more interesting than the telescope. But that possibly says more about me than anything else!!

Carlsbad, California
Level Contributor
79 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Is a side trip to Birr justified??

Thanks Bean