We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

3 weeks in australia (1st time)

Level Contributor
27 posts
600 reviews
Save Topic
3 weeks in australia (1st time)

Hi there

in april\may im headin to go in australia for the 1st time and i have three milestone to visit: sydney, cairns zone (im not a beach lover but ive seen incredible pictures about it) and uluru (2\3 days max).

Do you thing there's enough space to go (by air i guess) to Top End zone?

Ofc cuz im just beginning my planning, opinion about other territories are well accepted :)

Thanks in advance!

sydney australia
Level Contributor
3,665 posts
104 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 3 weeks in australia (1st time)

Sydney to Cairns is a 2.5 hour flight - lots every day.

Cairns to Ayers Rock Airport (uluru) is a 2.45 hour flight several a day

Ayers Rock to Sydney is 2 hrs 55 and several a day.

That gives you an idea of the distances.

That way you certainly get to experience the 3 different landscapes of Australia, the temperate city and beaches of Sydney, the tropical rainforest and Great Barrier Reef, and then the Arid Red wilderness of the outback

Arlington, Virginia
Destination Expert
for Arlington
Level Contributor
13,710 posts
114 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: 3 weeks in australia (1st time)

With three weeks of vacation, you have plenty of time to visit the Top End in addition to Sydney, Cairns and Uluru. However, be aware that the weather could be changeable during April and May as April is the end of "The Wet" and May is the beginning of "The Dry". If you decide to go to the Top End, which may be my favorite part of Australia, I'd spend 5 - 7 days there in order to visit Darwin, Kakadu, Litchfield and Katherine.

Here's some explanation of "The Wet" and "The Dry": questacon.edu.au/burarra-gathering/extra-inf…

Level Contributor
27 posts