We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

first time visitor

4 posts
1 review
Save Topic
first time visitor

Hey guys, I'm going to Australia in early Feb for 6 months on my own. This is my first time travelling and willbe doing so on my own. I will be starting off in Sydney then moving onto Melbourne followed by Adelaide then finally Perth, I will be looking at spending roughly 6 weeks at each destination and a week or so at Alice Springs before my return flight home from Sydney. I have read several of the FAQ's and other threads but still have a few questions.

1. Accomodation, will I be better off staying in hostels or looking fot temporary flat/house shares?

2. The easiest way to travel to each destination seems to be flying, am I correct in assuming so?

3. Attractions, I have researched each area and have a pretty good idea of what I want to see and visit. Are there any hidden gems that I should be aware of or make a slight detour for?

4. Travel buddy, is there anyone else going to be over there lone travelling between Feb & Aug that maybe want to meet up?

Thanks in advance

Melbourne, Australia
Destination Expert
for Sydney, Bargain Travel, Food and Travel
Level Contributor
25,942 posts
65 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: first time visitor

Hi,

1. It'll be both. You won't find the share accommodation online - well you can, but you seriously want to blind rent without seeing it or meeting your sharers? So you'll need to start off in hostels, and you'll notice people advertising on noticeboards, telegraph poles, online etc etc.

2. Yes

3. Yes, but they are hidden so you have to find them. I'm serious. Otherwise you aren't really exploring. And we have no idea of your interests.

4. Refer to point #1 and look at Travellerspoint

Gungahlin, Australia
Destination Expert
for Canberra