We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sydney to Noosa route suggestions

Which Sydney hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Oregon
Level Contributor
33 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Sydney to Noosa route suggestions

I will be driving from Sydney to Noosa to spend a week with family from New Zealand. Can someone recommend a Scenic route, either ocean or Hinterland, as well as interesting places to spend the night along the way? I am looking to arrive in Noosa Dec. 24. This is my first time to Australia.

Thanks!

Sydney Australia
Level Contributor
8,057 posts
97 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Sydney to Noosa route suggestions

Hi Journeys64,

How long have you got for the drive?

South Pole
Level Contributor
15,381 posts
36 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Sydney to Noosa route suggestions

u really only have two options.

inland =new england hwy

coastal= pacific hwy.

the latter hardly ever follows the coast and u have to do detours and loops to get the best out of it. this is obviously time consuming.

the request for an overnight stay suggests u r looking to do the drive in 2 days.

that time of year will be the beginning of the xmas/summer break. it will be very busy on the coast both road and accommo wise.

suggest u take the inland route altho it will be busy too.

'half way' is is either armidale or glen innes.

please be aware that neither of these roads are like the interstate hwy system u may be used to and distances cannot be covered in the same time frame.

Edited: 26 October 2012, 21:51
Oregon
Level Contributor
33 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Sydney to Noosa route suggestions

I was thinking about taking 4 days to get to Noosa. Do 3 night stops. I was hoping someone could recommend some interesting places to spend the night and sights along the way.

Thanks in advance.