We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Sunshine and temperature

Which Cairns hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Hartlepool, United...
Level Contributor
27 posts
50 reviews
Save Topic
Sunshine and temperature

I know there have been a few postings about weather recently but I wonder if somebody could give me more detailed advice.

I'm coming to Cairns on 9th March for just over 2 weeks and don't really know what to pack as its my first time to Oz and I don't want to transport a huge case.

Am I likely to be able to get some sunny days, is it likely to rain constantly, how warm will it be day/ night/ do I need wellies??????

I know that nobody can make predictions this far ahead but maybe forumites could give me some ideas so I can start thinking about packing. Also, how bad are mossies?

Thanks, in anticipation of response.

Adelaide, South...
Level Contributor
3 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Sunshine and temperature

Hi startlightlily!

I live in Australia but have just returned from a 2 week honeymoon in Cairns and Port Douglas.

You will be there during the wet season which you obviously seem aware however pack your bathers!!! The weather temperature wise is still beautiful, expect warm and very humid but still great swimming weather.

Make sure you pack lots of thin clothing, nothing like jeans as you will just be way too comfortable. The top end of Australia during this time still hits approx 27-30 degrees Celsius ow ever humidity can hit 100% which makes it ultra sticky!

Rain can hit at any time during the day and it will either come in a mass or in dribs and drabs. Either way it does not ruin most things you do.