We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Melbourne CBD

A J
Subiaco, Australia
Destination Expert
for Perth, Margaret River
Level Contributor
2,842 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Melbourne CBD

Hi all

I will be visiting Melbourne for 3-4 days from April 30th onwards. Although it will be a business trip, I will have a few mornings/afternoons/evenings free to see the city and my wife will be with me during those times. At this stage because we wont have any entire days free, Im thinking that we will probably just wander around the CBD and "wing it" regarding what we see. Im definately visiting Federation Square (hey...Im an architect, what can I say :)) and we'll be checking out galleries and markets. The wife will be looking at shopping (for example she loved the Queen Victoria building in Sydney) We'll be staying somewhere on the southbank (yet to be booked) and intend using only the city transport.

Ive looked thru the forums and "googled around" but maybe if a Melbournite has any recommendations about just chilling out around the city (nice cafes to kick back, shops to appease the better half, etc) I'd appreciate any suggestions.

Cheers

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
249 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Melbourne CBD

The City Circle tram is a good place to start, it's a free tourist tram that does a loop (both clockwise and anti clockwise)around the CBD, running at pretty regular intervals. You can get on and off as you like. It goes along Spring Street at the "top" of the city, past Parliament House, Treasury, the Windsor hotel etc., right down to the new developments in the doculands precinct. Look for the maroon coloured old style trams. This is not a bad way to get your bearings somewhat.