We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Student in Desperate need of Advice: Accommodation

London, United...
Level Contributor
10 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Student in Desperate need of Advice: Accommodation

Hi All!

I'm a medical student in London, UK planning an elective placement for a month at the Royal Perth Hospital, which I'm really excited about! Unfortunately I was told recently that the hospital based accommodation I was expecting to stay in is no longer available. I'm due to fly out there on 19th August and have no where to stay for 4 weeks!

I have looked into hotels and bed and breakfasts but they are ridiculously expensive for 4 weeks. I'm not keen on homestay (where you live with an Australian family) as I would like my own privacy. I am considering backpackers lodges...but 4 weeks in a backpackers, and having to dress up formally to go to work in the hospital, the working life and backpackers life..the two don't fit.

But honestly open to most things now, desperate for advice. If anyone out there has any words of wisdom I would be sooo grateful!

Edited: 01 July 2013, 19:10
Arlington, Virginia
Destination Expert
for Arlington
Level Contributor
12,819 posts
114 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Student in Desperate need of Advice: Accommodation

Hostels don't just have big dorm rooms these days. You could easily have a private room and bath which would just be like staying in a hotel, but cheaper.

My college-aged kids have done this all over Europe since they don't like shared quarters either. They use HostelWorld.com to find and book their hostels.

Sydney/Melbourne
Level Contributor
18,129 posts
74 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Student in Desperate need of Advice: Accommodation

Try Airbnb. There are some good options out there for Perth.