We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

3 weeks in August

Ireland
Level Contributor
83 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
3 weeks in August

Hi

Helo gus,my partner and I are travelling in New Zealand for 3 weeks in August and we are hoping that someone could help us out.

We have three weeks and are planning to only travel the south island, do you think that we could see both island in 3 weeks?

What will the weather be like, how cold will it be

We are travelling on a budget and want to travel as cheap as we can. Is there a local bus service that we can get around the island? Or should we book with Magic Bus tour company, which would be better value?

Hope to hear from you soon

Queenstown, New...
Level Contributor
1,340 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: 3 weeks in August

You could do both Islands in 3 weeks, just depends on how much travelling you want to do?

If you want to stay in a area 2-3 days then just stick to the south. That way you'll get to see a lot of the South Island and enjoy the trip, without it being too rushed.

August is late winter here, so it'll still be cold. If you wear some thermals, you'll be warm and won't need to layer too much.

There is a public bus service in that travels the country, called intercity.

http://www.intercity.co.nz/default.php

http://www.magicbus.co.nz/

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
353 posts
30 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: 3 weeks in August

Hey Stout,

Hope your well. My husband and i toured both the north and south island last october for three weeks. Of course there are somethings that you just aren't going to see, so you will have to decide basically what you do really want to see and do and start from there, anything that you can take in on the way is a bonus.

I don't know about the whole public transport system available as we hired a car. But i am sure some of the great local experts will help you with that.

our blog if you want to check it is www.getjealous.com/csquared

This is the list of accommodation that we stayed in New Zealand during our holiday i hope this helps:

1) Auckland - Stamford Plaza

2) Russell - Russell Bay Lodge - www.russellbay.co.nz

3) Whangarei - Lupton Lodge - www.luptonlodge.co.nz

4) Waitomo - Hobbit Motel - www.woodlynpark.co.nz

5) Rotorua - Ferntree Cottage - www.ferntreecottage.co.nz

6) Wellington - Lambton Heights - www.lambtonheights.co.nz

7) Nelson - Honey Nectary House - www.honeyhousenelson.co.nz

8.) Punakaiki - Havenz - www.havenz.co.nz

9) Franz Josef - Westwood Lodge - www.westwood-lodge.co.nz

10) Wanaka - Te Wanaka - www.tewanaka.co.nz

11) Queenstown - The Heritage Hotel

12) Pleasant Point - Centre Hill Cottage - www.centrehillcottage.com

13) Hanmer Springs - Tussock Peak Motel

14) Christchurch - Off the square hotel

New Zealand

Auckland -

1) Sky Tower - www.skytower.co.nz

2) Auckland Bridge Climb - www.ajhackett.com

3) -5 Bar - www.minus5.co.nz

Russell - www.russellnz.com

1) Mack Attack - www.mackattack.co.nz

2) Cape Reinga - www.saltair.co.nz

Whangarei - www.whangarei.co.nz

1) Whangarei Falls

2) Ocean Beach, Whangarei Heads

3) Dive Poor Knights - www.diving.co.nz

4) Candyland - www.candyland.co.nz

Waitomo

1) Marokopa Waterfall

2) Mangopohue Natural Bridge

3) Waitomo Glo Worm Caves - www.glowworm.co.nz

Rotorua

1) Luge and Gondola - www.skylineskyrides.co.nz/rotorua/

2) Extreme Freefall, Agrojet - www.agrodome.co.nz

3) Zorb - www.zorb.co.nz

4) Maori Hangi Feast - www.maoriculture.co.nz

5) Waimangu - www.waimangu.co.nz

6) Wai-o-tapu - www.waitotapu.co.nz

7) Mud Bath - www.hellsgate.co.nz

8)Polynesian Spa - www.polynesianspa.co.nz

Wellington

1) Te Papa Museum - www.tepapa.govt.co.nz

Nelson

1) Skywire Ride - www.happyvalleyadventures.co.nz

Punakaiki

1) Pancake Rocks - www.pancake-rocks.co.nz

Franz Josef

1) Heli Hike - www.helicopter.co.nz

2) Icebridge Internet cafe

Wanaka

1) Puzzle World - www.puzzlingworld.co.nz

Queenstown

1) Luge - www.skyline.co.nz

2) - 5 Bar - www.minus5experience.com

3) Para sailing

4) Shotover Jet - www.shotoverjet.com

5) Milford Overnight Cruise - www.realjourneys.co.nz

6) Crazy Golf - Caddy shack city

Hanmer Springs

1) Thermal Pools - www.hanmerssprings.co.nz

Kaikoura

1) Swimming with dolphins - www.dolphin.co.nz

2) Whale Watching - www.whalewatch.co.nz

Christchurch

1) Tram - www.tram.co.nz

2) Christchurch Cathedral - www.christchurchcathedral.co.nz

3) Art Centre - www.artscentre.org.nz

4) Hot Air Balloon - www.ballooning.co.nz

5) Punting on the avon - www.punting.co.nz

6) Antarctic Centre - www.iceberg.co.nz

3. Re: 3 weeks in August

-:- Message from TripAdvisor staff -:-

This topic has been closed to new posts due to inactivity. We hope you'll join the conversation by posting to an open topic or starting a new one.

To review the TripAdvisor Forums Posting Guidelines, please follow this link: http://www.tripadvisor.com/pages/forums_posting_guidelines.html

We remove posts that do not follow our posting guidelines, and we reserve the right to remove any post for any reason.

Removed on: 04 September 2009, 23:17