We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

How do I decide where not to go!?

Boston
3 posts
Save Topic
How do I decide where not to go!?

We are going to be spending 12 nights in NZ in early to mid May. So far our itinerary is... arrive into Queenstown airport, driving to Te Anau (Milford Sound)- Wanaka- Glaciers- Abel Tasman- Nelson- Wellington-Hawkes Bay-Rotorua, and then straight to the airport in Auckland to catch our flight back.

I'm thinking we're trying to do too much. I need suggestions on what to cut out. What are the best places to visit during this time of year? I would also love to spend a little time at Mt Ruapehu or Taupo but don't know what to give up instead. We'd like to do some day hikes, some wine country, and I'm also an amateur photographer... any suggestions?

Thanks!

San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
284 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: How do I decide where not to go!?

Hi Kreddy...It sounds like you're planning a trip VERY similar to the honeymoon my fiance and I are planning. We're not sure if we're going north to south or south to north yet (two weeks in July). As far as your question, I've never been, but I've been reading a lot about NZ lately and the caves around Rotorua sound like the most fun thing to me so far. Lonely Planet has excellent guidebooks, and there are a few suggested itineraries from pages 16-20 in their NZ book. Sorry I couldn't really help with your question, but I'm excited for you!

New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: How do I decide where not to go!?

Hi Kreddy,

All those places are fantastic and I think you've planned a very wise trip, that includes most of New Zealands main highlights. It will be packed though as it can take up to two days driving to get up the South Island and one day to get up the north to Auckland.