We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kiwi and Kea

Sydney
Level Contributor
72 posts
160 reviews
Save Topic
Kiwi and Kea

Are there any places to view kiwi and kea in the wild on the South Island with some reliability? Or is it luck of the draw when visiting the appropriate areas?

Sydney, Australia
Destination Expert
for Train Travel
Level Contributor
88,959 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Kiwi and Kea

Kiwis are endangered and you are unlikely to see them in the wild. I have been visiting NZ on and off for over 40 years and have never seen one in the wild.

Park your car near one of the glaciers, or at either end of the Homer Tunnel on the Milford road, and kea will appear and start destroying the softer parts of the car: windscreen wipers, rubber window seals, etc.

Wellington, New...
Destination Expert
for Wellington, Bay of Islands
Level Contributor
10,156 posts
223 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Kiwi and Kea

Your chances of seeing kiwi in the wild unless you are in the bush with experts are slim to nil. As Sydney Nick has rightly pointed out take your car to the glaciers in the south iSland or near the snowline. You will wish you had never seen Kea especially if you have a rental car.

Christchurch, New...
Destination Expert
for South Island
Level Contributor
8,176 posts
216 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Kiwi and Kea