We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

North Island or South Island

Summersville, West...
Level Contributor
1,211 posts
23 reviews
Save Topic
North Island or South Island

I am only beginning the educational stage of what New Zealand has to offer. Somewhere, I have read that the South Island has more to offer in the way of WOW scenery but would like suggestions.

Also, today I looked over South Island N Z Frenzy by Scott Cook. Does anyone have suggestions as to what guide I might read to look regarding:

1. What a couple in their early 60s might enjoy?

2. Drives with drop your jaw gorgeous views?

3. Shorter walks (under 4 km round trip) with the wow factor?

4. Special scenic places to spend the night in a small camper van.

To give you a heads up, we have always used and appreciated Rick Steves for Europe to let you understand a typical author we appreciate greatly. Sincerely thanks in advance for your words of wisdom and keep traveling.

New Zealand
Destination Expert
for South Island
Level Contributor
28,430 posts
85 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: North Island or South Island

Welcome to the Kiwi forum C :)

Which month are you planning to travel?, as that can influence where best to go and which stunning drives to enjoy.

And yes, the South Island has much to offer. If you are here more than two weeks you could possibly also spend a few days in the North Island.

For overnight camping, DOC sites often are in stunning locations and are very low cost. The rest of the time you will need to stay in commercial campsites or designated camping areas. Stopping wherever you wish, such as at a remote lake edge, is not an option - there is a $200 fine for illegal camping http://www.camping.org.nz/

I can't recommend a guide book, but www.newzealand.com offers plenty of good information.

Happy planning :)