We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Abel Tasman & Wharariki Beach

London, United...
Level Contributor
27 posts
Save Topic
Abel Tasman & Wharariki Beach

We will be spending 3 days in the ATNP at the end of February 2015, 2 adults and 2 teenagers staying in a campervan. We plan on spending our time kayaking,hiking and enjoying the beaches.I am also a keen photographer and keen to visit Wharariki beach. I think it is about 2.5 hrs from motueka. Im not sure if we should plan on spending 1 night Motueka + 1 night Takaka + 1 night Wharariki or just drive there for the day.

We will be coming to the ATNP from Kaikoura and after spending three days at the ATNP we will be heading off to Punakaika. any advice greatly appreciated.Many thanks.

Nelson-Tasman...
Level Contributor
7,353 posts
429 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Abel Tasman & Wharariki Beach

If you are visiting ABNP I would suggest you dont spend a night in Motueka but spend the night in Kaiteriteri, or Marahau. Depending on which cruise option you take i.e. some leave from Kaiteriteri and some Marahau. There are some great day trips and I suggest you do one which combines boat trip, kayak and walk. You wouldnt regret seeing all the options.

…govt.nz/parks-and-recreation/…

There are a numer of different kayak companies but check this out

http://www.abeltasmankayaks.co.nz/fullday

To really get the most out of your day in AT the further into the park you go the better!

Wharikiki is a great beach and photographers delight. nearly always seals around as well. The whole Golden