We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kayaking - Milford or Doubtful Sound

England
Level Contributor
20 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Kayaking – Milford or Doubtful Sound

Hi

My husband and I will be staying in Te Anua in August. We only have 2 days for tours and would like to experience both Milford and Doubtful Sound. We have been thinking about doing a kayaking tour for one of them. Which would be better for the kayaking, Milford or Doubtful?

Also, I am a keen amateur photographer, but I am conscious that if we choose to do a Kayaking tour then I may miss out on some great photo opportunities, as it would be too risky to take my DSLR camera out on a kayak! I am thinking therefore it may be better to do the Kayaking tour around Doubtful and the Cruise on Milford, that way I can also have my camera ready when we travel along the Milford Road which I’ve also heard is stunning.

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks

South Island
Destination Expert
for South Island
Level Contributor
1,435 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Kayaking – Milford or Doubtful Sound

The early morning Kayak tours in Milford Sound are stunning especially if you strike good weather. Keep your options open and assess the weather conditions at the time. Milford Sound has better access than Doubtful Sound but if you enjoy kayaking try and do both.

Taking camera gear is a risk but the guides are extremely helpful and will provide you with the gear and information to reduce the chances of damaging your camera.

Kayaking these fiords on an a still flat sea in the middle of Winter is a great experience, Enjoy.

England
Level Contributor
20 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Kayaking – Milford or Doubtful Sound