We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Christchurch to Queenstown Scenic Drive

Gold Coast...
Level Contributor
5 posts
59 reviews
Christchurch to Queenstown Scenic Drive

My partner and I are doing a 7 day trip to the South Island in late July- early Aug. We will be flying into Christchurch, and everyone has told me that there is more to see south of the island, so we are looking to make our way to Queenstown ASAP. I am a little wary of driving in the snow as I have no experience what so ever driving in those conditions. Would we be better off flying from Christchurch to Queenstown, or would we really be missing out on some amazing scenery/attractions not doing this drive?

I would appreciate any suggestions!!

Aoraki Mount Cook...
Level Contributor
787 posts
58 reviews
1. Re: Christchurch to Queenstown Scenic Drive

The odds of driving in snow aren't very high. Don't let this put you off driving Chch- Qtn

However it will be winter and some parts of the road is very likely to be icy. (particularly though the Lindis & the Kawarau Gorge)

Sensible driving is what is required - it is better to take your time to get there than not at all.

New Zealand
Level Contributor
9,492 posts
12 reviews
2. Re: Christchurch to Queenstown Scenic Drive

Traveling Angel- Definatly don't miss the ChCh-Qtwn drive, it is very beautiful but it's also quite a long drive.

Funny- snow's all I want when I've travelled that road in winter(4 or 5 times) and I've yet to strike it, but good to be cautious and make sure you allow enough time to arrive into Qtwn before dark.

Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
133 posts
1 review
3. Re: Christchurch to Queenstown Scenic Drive