We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driving times

Edinburgh, United...
Level Contributor
19 posts
27 reviews
Save Topic
Driving times

I've just been reading some of the posts and I'm now starting to freak out about driving times.

We are planning our trip for either June or October next year, I know June will be more likely to have snow and October more likely to have avalances, and I'm a keen photographer so likely to be stopping a lot, and the time to take a bit longer than stated. So far I've done driving times based on google route planner, how accurate is this?

Christchurch - Nelson = 5 hours

Nelson - Fox Glacier = 6 hours

Fox Glacier - Queenstown = 4 hours

Queenstown - Te Anau = 2 hours

Te Anau - Christchurch = 7.5 hours

We will be on South Island for 19 nights so we have some days exploring each place, most of the time split between Queenstown and Te Anau (6 nights each), so there'll be plenty time to explore the areas. But are we being too ambicious about our journey times?

Thanks in advance.

Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3,147 posts
21 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Driving times

Fox Glacier to Queenstown will take 6-7+ hours. None of those roads are avalanche prone; that is just the Milford Road. Nelson to Fox would be about right.

Christchurch, New...
Destination Expert
for Zhuhai, Christchurch, South Island
Level Contributor
36,403 posts
366 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Driving times

I prefer to rely on aamaps.co.nz for driving times. Chch to Nelson is more like 5:40hr. Don't forget that you need to stop for a rest at least every 2 hours & will probably want to stop for food, fuel, photos to say nothing of one way bridges, sheep on the road etc. So this will take around 7hr. I often take 50% more than minimum if I am in a new area or have visitors with me.