We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

absinth

charleroi, pa
Level Contributor
82 posts
Save Topic
absinth

hi i'll be in prague in a few weeks and coworkers are asking me to bring back bottles of absinth is there any name brand better then the other or which should i purchase thanks

Level Contributor
76 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: absinth

Hi, I'm not an expert in different brands of Absinth but there's a nice alcohol shop in Na Mustku street, so you can try to ask its staff ...

Llandudno, United...
Destination Expert
for Prague, Llandudno
Level Contributor
11,952 posts
49 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: absinth

Forget the Absinthe get some Becherovka! :0)

Only joking...

Some famous brands are Hill's Absinth, Staroplzenecky Absinth, Absinth King of Spirits, Red Absinth (Red in color), Absinthe Original, and La Fee Absinth.

Tesco is a good place to have a browse.

Brno, Czech Republic
Destination Expert
for Czech Republic, Slovakia, Train Travel
Level Contributor
29,545 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: absinth

IMO all brands are the same - nasty and undrinkable :) It isn't the real thing, though - you have to go to Switzerland for that, and in order to make the Czech versions more 'drinkable' they introduced the gimmicky 'burning' procedure, which has no relation to tradition.

Dubai, United Arab...
Level Contributor
1,043 posts
47 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: absinth

I've only had absinthe twice. Really, tell your comrades they want to skip the experience.

A recent news report stated that up to 50% of bottled, distilled spirits sold in CR come from adulterated, industrial ethanol. I can only imagine what goes on with absinthe here.

If you really want absinthe, visit Zurich.

Brno, Czech Republic
Destination Expert
for Czech Republic, Slovakia, Train Travel
Level Contributor
29,545 posts