We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Starting to plan a trip

Madison, WI
Level Contributor
65 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Starting to plan a trip

My grandparents emigrated from Hungary in the early 1900's and I have always wanted to visit. I am planning on a trip next year, either spring or fall.

I am a photographer, writer and generally interested in anything that doesn't have golden arches or a colonel on the sign. I speak none of the language.

Wondering about how I even begin to plan an a trip that allows for both flexible scheduling when I want to stay in a place longer and if I should plan on renting a car....

Thinking trip will be 2-3 weeks and I will carry all I take in a backpack and one bag...I go light...

Thanks for any information and ideas....especially the baths and other historic "must see" places....

Nick

Connecticut
Level Contributor
382 posts
33 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Starting to plan a trip

Get thee to your local library and check out their guidebooks and travel videos. Lounge around your local Borders or Barnes and Noble. Pretty soon one of those guidebooks will speak to you. Buy it. Meanwhile, stop here regularly. Read posts. Go to the column on the left and explore. Start a file. Print out some of the stuff you find on the internet.

Ask questions here.

As you get closer to your trip, consolidate and organize your information. Put tabs in your guidebook. Write notes in the margines. Insert post-it notes with valuable information. Have a great trip.

Incidently, the golden arches aren't all bad. Bathrooms are generally free and a collection of menu boards (in photos) in different languages are a fun souvenir.

Barbara

Denver, Colorado
Destination Expert
for Pecs, Budapest
Level Contributor
4,687 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Starting to plan a trip

Nick,