We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Handling luggage on trains

Which Budapest hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
New Haven...
Level Contributor
19 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Handling luggage on trains

Is there help lifting luggage on and off trains? I don't think I can handle it myself

Budapest, Hungary
Destination Expert
for Budapest
Level Contributor
2,931 posts
106 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Handling luggage on trains

Hi Fern,

I am not a train expert, and only take them once/twice a year....but in my experiences in Budapest I have NEVER seen a service provided by the train company that assists with luggage (I.e., a porter). Some time back, there was a series of posts on this forum about 'porters' at Keleti train station that while the acted as if they were employees, they were not and would demand many Euros for their 'service.'

A couple of thoughts....find GCEK on this forum. He is the absolute train expert and might be able to comment. If all else fails, you may be able to ask a fellow traveler for help....And note - Keleti and Deli (two primary rail stations here in Budapest) have stairs that I don't believe can be avoided. May want to get some specifics and expert advice on that as well.

Best,

Jeremy

Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
466 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Handling luggage on trains

Hi FernTausig, first of all, there are 3 major train stations in Budapest, can you share which one will you arrive at?

Keleti has some porter service (official porter service, even though not the best, and obviously their communication is below standards, OR there is a bunch of cheaters who are pretending to be official porters too).