We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

looking ofr specific suggestions for 10 days in alaska

arizona
12 posts
Save Topic
looking ofr specific suggestions for 10 days in alaska

i am new to the message boards but i have been told its the best way to get info -so here goes,

i am traveling alone in mid June for 10 days. i am flexible with time and events. i am an amateur photographer but passionate about it! i want to take animal shots, see eagles and even flowers. i am not interested in guided tours or history too much. i have a travel agency helping but they have me driving way too much! i am into staying in different places but seeing the wildlife and even the cultural differences is what i want to capture.

i definitely want off the beaten path and some mainstream too i guess. the less i spend the longer i can stay but i am one who thinks 'no room service' is camping! i can rough it for a few days but a warm shower and good food are a must! i hike to a reasonable degree but freezing is not an option!

i can use all the help there is out there! fire away!

thanks!

Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
6,894 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: looking ofr specific suggestions for 10 days in alaska

Hi clf45, welcome to the forum!

You said you have a travel agency working on this. It might help to let us know what they have come up with, and what parts you like/don't like.

As for driving, Alaska is huge and to get to different places, you have to travel. I assume one of the places you'd like to visit is Denali, which is 5 to 6 hour drive from Anchorage. Rather than drive yourself, you could take a train or bus (or one each way).