We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Seward questions, train vs car, and more.....

Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
38 posts
Save Topic
Seward questions, train vs car, and more.....

I’m debating on driving from Anchorage to Seward or taking the train. I would like the freedom of stopping where I want to take pictures and such, as I’m a pretty avid photographer, but the convenience of the train seems tempting. Any opinions? About how long does it take by car?

Once in Seward I’m thinking of doing one of the glacier cruise tours, 6 hour 8 hour, whatever….. then maybe checking out some of the day hikes in the area the next day, exit glacier or….etc….. How close are they to the town center, would it be better to have a car for this? I do see some shuttle services to the trail entrances, anyone use those?

Any recommendations on hotels or lodges there? Are any of them a little more isolated, quiet, scenic?.. I’d like to stay somewhere a little away from things if possible, without too much road noise and such….

(this is for july 2012)

Edited: 26 October 2011, 23:30
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
3,796 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Seward questions, train vs car, and more.....

It's 125 miles from Anchorage to Seward. Minimum 2 1/2 hrs. It's a very scenic drive so if you have a clear sunny day it could also take 10 hrs ! You can stop at Portage Glacier, the Conservation Center, hike the Winner Creek Trail, ride the tram at Alyeska, etc. Some suggested stops are in this link.

alaska.org/driving/portage-valley-whittier-s…

But if you would rather take the train, no, you don't need a car in Seward. It's a small place so you can walk or take a cab. There's a shuttle to Exit Glacier. Info in the Park's web site:

nps.gov/kefj/planyourvisit/exit-glacier.htm