We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Help With Trip Planning

Ra'anana, Israel
Level Contributor
39 posts
Save Topic
Help With Trip Planning

It's been a really long time that I wanted to visit Alaska and finally it will happen this summer. I Haven't booked anything yet but I plan to arrive in Alaska at around August 18-20 and stay for a bit more then a month.

I'm not very smart so I'm just beginning to plan for the trip (right now mostly by reading about the different regions and what they offer), So I'll probably return here when I have more knowledge :)

Right now I would like to get your opinion about one specific thing. I know I won't have enough time to get the full Alaska experience and some people have told me it's better to focus on specific regions than to rush everything. I originally thought to start at Juneau/Sitka and dedicate around 7-10 days visiting southeast Alaska and specifically Glacier Bay National Park.

I'm starting to see how this might really limit my options later on. From what I've learned so far I think the region I would most like to focus on is the Kenai Peninsula, and I think spending a week or more in the southeast might really limit my options for long range trekking (I'd really love to do at least one backpacking trail of at least 4 days). I would also like to spend some time in the Fairbanks area. I heard there's a decent chance of seeing the northern lights in September so right now I'm thinking this will be one of the last stops.