We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Celebrity Cruise-Summit TERRIBLE

California
6 posts
Save Topic
Celebrity Cruise-Summit TERRIBLE

I just thought I would post some insight for those who were thinking of using this cruise line.

I guess I should begin with the original situation that occurred about a year ago. My husband and I were ready to take a cruise for our 1 year Wedding Anniversary and decided to choose Celebrity Cruise Lines Summit because we liked their itinerary through the Inside Passage of Alaska. The original sailing was for June 3rd of 2005. The night before we were scheduled to fly out my husband received a phone call late in the evening by a Celebrity Rep. They stated that our cruise had been canceled because of a propulsion problem, and we would receive our money back and a free voucher for a future sailing. Although I was very disappointed that our Anniversary plans were thwarted, we were happy that they were accommodating. We then made arrangements for our replacement Alaskan cruise which was set for May of 2006.

Now comes the start of our issues with this cruise line. We, by chance decided to call the cruise line approx. 5 months before our sail date to confirm our reservations and ensure that our room was on the side of the ship facing land. When I called the cruise line they informed me that our prior booking had been canceled because they updated their computer system and any bookings that were not "paid for" were canceled. I promptly told the rep that we did not need to pay for our cruise because it was supposed to be comped. After she put me on hold for well over 20 minutes, she proceeded to tell me that all she could do was offer me another room on the other side of the ship. I told her that this was unacceptable and we wanted Celebrity to honor our original booking agreement made when the other cruise was canceled. She again stated that all she could do was give us another room. I asked her if it was then possible for us to move our sail date since she could not accommodate our needs. She began to get an attitude with me and told me that we can just take the other room and leave it at that. At this point my frustration level was clearly rising and I asked her if I could speak to a supervisor. She proceeded to tell me that she was the highest level of employee in which I could speak to concerning this matter. I hung up the phone with her, utterly angry at the situation at this point and called Celebrity back a couple of hours later and was able to speak to a woman that informed me of the Cresso desk. This is a customer service type sector of Celebrity that is supposed to go above and beyond to accommodate their customers.

I had my husband speak to the woman at the Cresso desk because of my frustration, I did not want to lose my temper. After about an hour of back and forth with the Cresso rep, my husband was able to move our cruise to a July sail date (which by the way was not a date near our 2 year Anniversary such as the second canceled booking for May of 06). He also spent another 30 to 45 minutes on the phone with her reaching an agreement on what added amenities they could provide because of the situations we had encountered. She relented and provided us with complimentary wine on two of our formal nights and complimentary certificates for 2 to the Summit's specialty restaurant.

After this exchange we were back to being happy with the cruise line until I tried to receive my credit for our airfare changes, which was apart of the original cancellation agreement from the cruise in June of 05. In January of 06, we made our flight arrangements for our new booking in July. I had the airline fax my receipts over so they could be forwarded to the cruise line in order to have my credit card reimbursed. I spoke with a Celebrity rep and they told me to fax the info and they would credit me. I did so the same day. After two weeks had passed I phoned the cruise to inquire about my credit. They proceeded to tell me that they had not received the fax and to please resend it. I did so the following day. After about a month of checking my credit card bill I still did not see a credit. I then phoned the cruise line again and inquired. They stated that they had not received it and to refax. At this point I was utterly ticked. To make an even longer story short. We finally received our credit the week before our sail date of July 7, 06.

After all of this my husband and I still kept an open mind because this was a free cruise and we were looking for a cruise line that we could use on a regular basis and we had heard good things about Celebrity. We finally boarded the ship on Sat. the 7th and the ship was nice. The first thing we did was reserve our dinner at the specialty restaurant. The MD had our voucher for the free meal. We also received our comp. bottles of wine on two nights during the cruise.

There were a few things that did not meet our standards with Celebrity:

-the food was not very good, the portions were small.

-the buffets and food areas closed early.

-the only activities onboard after 10:30pm was a disco and the casino.

-the activities throughout the trip were not geared to anyone under the age of 65.

-Icy Strait Point was a huge disappointment. Souvenirs were very expensive and there was nothing to do unless you had an excursion planned. The town of Hoonah, which is about a two mile walk from the dock was a dilapidated, run down, poor excuse for a destination location. To top it off, on the tender ride to the dock, our tender captain ran us into the side of the ship and into the stair railing on the tender platform.

-the service on board was excellent in the casino and our stateroom attendant was great. However, the rest of the service was poor.

-the entertainment was also very poor, the comedian was good but aside from that the other shows were terrible. The Cirque De Soliel show only lasted about 30 minutes, and it was nothing like a real Cirque show.

-we booked a concierge class room, it was very small, not functional at all (i.e. no real space for luggage) and the bathroom was worn down and extremely small. The tiles in the shower were coming up, the shower curtain was dirty, and the toilet seat was worn to the point the paint was coming off. Also, there were no outlets in the restroom for a curling iron.

On a final note we have now checked our credit card bill and they seem to have overcharged us $100 from our final statement. This ought to be fun trying to get this resolved.

Overall, this was a very disappointing experience and I could not recommend this cruise line to a fellow cruise traveler. We would rate Carnival higher than Celebrity.

Mentioned in this post
Inside Passage
Inside Passage
585 Reviews
Alaska
Icy Strait Point
Icy Strait Point
909 Reviews
Hoonah, AK
Alaska
Alaska
United States
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
2,847 posts
128 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Celebrity Cruise-Summit TERRIBLE

Sorry that you had such a disappointing experience with Celebrity. You evaluation however, would be more appropriate for the Cruisecritic.com website. This is where you find reviews of the poster's experience on thier cruise. You will find good and bad reviews for ALL cruiseliners. Perhaps if you had researched beforehand, you would have discovered that Celebrity is not geared toward the younger party crowd, as Carnival is. Additionally, how can one book a cruise without investigating the ports and length of stay? Sounds as if you didn't do your homework.

I'm looking forward to my cruise on the Summit next week : - )

California
6 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Celebrity Cruise-Summit TERRIBLE

Hello aguablue,

Actually I did do a lot of research about this cruise line. My husband and I are not partiers (This is why we do not choose Carnival), however, we do enjoy some sort of social activity after 10:30pm. This also includes food options after that time as well. Also, I was very interested in visiting the ports they had listed, especially ISP because everyone said it was representative of a true Alaskan town. This is far from the truth and you will see that when you arrive there, take a walk into Hoonah and that will give you some perspective as to my thoughts on this. The best Alaskan town was Skagway. Good luck on the Summit I would be curious to hear your opinion when you arrive home.

Mentioned in this post
Skagway
Skagway
Alaska
Whitby, ON
Level Contributor
2 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Celebrity Cruise-Summit TERRIBLE

Sounds like you had a rough time with your booking that relayed onto your cruise. I was on the Summit September 9-16th in a Sky Suite and found the service to be impecible and the food was wonderful in all areas of the ship. I did not hear one single mutter of disappointment in the food the entire cruise. Some people are far too picky. Maybe you should stick to Carnival and leave Celebrity to people who appreciate the wonderful food, entertainment, excellent accomodations and amazing people. You really should learn not to sweat the small stuff! Lighten up!

haines, alaska
Destination Expert
for Haines
Level Contributor
7,132 posts
34 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Celebrity Cruise-Summit TERRIBLE

Sounds like they really dropped the ball on this one......the lack of customer service in this case is appalling.....no wonder it tainted your enjoyment of the trip........

Washington State
Level Contributor
54 posts
8 reviews
Save Reply
5. Re: Celebrity Cruise-Summit TERRIBLE

I'm sorry this person had such a bad experience. It sounds like Celebrity could have done much better on their customer service.

Comments like this are always enlightening. Luckily, this post is the exception rather than the rule. There are occasional negative reviews about Celebrity (as there are with virtually all cruise lines), but the vast majority of feedback has been positive.

I can sure understand how the first rude customer service representative could have set the tone for the rest of the Celebrity encounter, making someone more sensitive to any issues.

I do see a red flag in this post, though, when I read that the husband "spent another 30 to 45 minutes on the phone with her reaching an agreement on what added amenities they could provide because of the situations we had encountered." I have found that travelers who have a sense of entitlement, or always feel they deserve more compensation than they are getting, are usually more difficult to please, and tend to focus on the negatives rather than the positives. When I come across people like this on my travels, I simply try to avoid them. The author of this post sounds nice, and hopefully doesn't fall into this category!

North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
639 posts
Save Reply
6. Re: Celebrity Cruise-Summit TERRIBLE

Sorry the cruise experience and service was lackluster (at best)... This is but one of the reasons I maintain my own "cruise ship" (ha!) for our travels around SE Alaska. It's so much harder to complain about the service and crew when I AM the service and crew! ;-)

Regarding the statement that, "especially ISP because everyone said it was representative of a true Alaskan town. This is far from the truth and you will see that when you arrive there, take a walk into Hoonah and that will give you some perspective as to my thoughts on this. The best Alaskan town was Skagway." You're comparing apples and oranges here... Skagway has a rich history relating to the gold rush era, and has been doing the "tourist thing" for many years with ever increasing volume. To me, Skagway is a bit "candy coated" in the summer, and a bit "ghost town-ish" in the winter season. Hoonah, on the other hand, is about as "real deal" as you can get. It's a native fishing village... nothing more. People there tend to live a much more rural and subsistence lifestyle. If things are "dilapidated", it's probably because owners of homes and buildings are busy staying alive rather than shipping in vinyl siding. When was the last time you went more than a year between grocery store visits? Survived a winter heated by wood you chopped and eating deer or moose that you hunted for yourself? The priorities are just different in the two towns, and to say that one was a disappointment and one is the "best" shows that you may have had some pre-conceived notions and in your opinion those expectations weren't met.

Happy (future) Alaska Travels... (because now you've got a good reason to come back with a clean slate and open mind to see what else is here!)

-Case

Mentioned in this post
Alaska
Alaska
United States
Skagway
Skagway
Alaska
haines, alaska
Destination Expert
for Haines
Level Contributor
7,132 posts
34 reviews
Save Reply
7. Re: Celebrity Cruise-Summit TERRIBLE

Go Case !!

Alexandria, Va
Level Contributor
205 posts
41 reviews
Save Reply
8. Re: Celebrity Cruise-Summit TERRIBLE

The original post was 2 years ago! Why was it topped?

fti
MN
Destination Expert
for Alaska
Level Contributor
15,808 posts
30 reviews
Save Reply
9. Re: Celebrity Cruise-Summit TERRIBLE

I too notice that this is a very old post. But I will comment anyway.

1) I was on the Summit a year ago this week. Though I didn't like the fact that there was no unobstructed viewing area at the front of the ship, generally I liked the ship. The inside stateroom was larger than the inside Princess stateroom I had on the Crown. I didn't like the fact that they had limited dining options if you didn't eat at the set dining times each night but I found other options (buffet, a limited sit-down restaurant near the buffet, etc).

2) I really enjoyed Icy Strait Point when I went there last year. My whale watch trip was a disaster (didn't take place) but the town was interesting. When you live in a remote location like that, you rarely throw anything away, so yes the yards were filled with what might have looked like trash. It was certainly not 2 miles into town - about a mile each way. I walked another mile up the road past town since I had nothing else to do. Very interesting town and it is a great place for whale watching (Pt. Adolphus).

Also not sure why you did so much phone calling with your problems - my mantra is "get everything in writing" so I would have definitely followed up any phone calls with certified letters, return receipt requested.

John

Mentioned in this post
Icy Strait Point
Icy Strait Point
909 Reviews
Hoonah, AK
10. Re: Celebrity Cruise-Summit TERRIBLE

-:- Message from TripAdvisor staff -:-

This topic has been closed to new posts due to inactivity. We hope you'll join the conversation by posting to an open topic or starting a new one.

To review the TripAdvisor Forums Posting Guidelines, please follow this link: http://www.tripadvisor.com/pages/forums_posting_guidelines.html

We remove posts that do not follow our posting guidelines, and we reserve the right to remove any post for any reason.

Removed on: 19 September 2009, 05:17