We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driving from Edmonton to Anchorage at end of April

Dallas
Level Contributor
13 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Driving from Edmonton to Anchorage at end of April

My 19 year old son and I will be driving from Edmonton to Anchorage at end of April (actually starting from Dallas but I'm thinking to Edmonton should be a breeze and this is a Canada forum, after all).

I will be driving a 14' box truck with a vehicle ON a trailer.

This is my first time doing anything like this and I would appreciate any advice and recommendations. Unfortunately this is not a sightseeing trip. How long will that trip take me?

Thanks in advance.

Mentioned in this post
Edmonton
Edmonton
Alberta, Canada
Healy, Alaska
Destination Expert
for Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
43,900 posts
44 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Driving from Edmonton to Anchorage at end of April

Actually, this isn't a Canadian forum - it is the Alaska forum. You may want to post on the Canadian forum since most of the length of your drive will be thru Canada.

April is not the best time - it is known as our breakup - you will possibly still see some winter, so do be prepared for that.

Need up to date passports and get a copy of the Milepost - it is a wonderful resource and necessity for driving up to Alaska thru Canada.

How many hours a day do you want to drive? You could probably do it in less than 4 days from Edmonton, but that is a lot of driving and doesn't factor in much else.

Mentioned in this post
Alaska
Alaska
United States
Edmonton
Edmonton
Alberta, Canada
Vancouver, Canada
Destination Expert
for Vancouver
Level Contributor
64,325 posts
62 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Driving from Edmonton to Anchorage at end of April