We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

ANC arrival, family trip, help planning (08/1-08/8)

Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
4 posts
10 reviews
Save Topic
ANC arrival, family trip, help planning (08/1-08/8)

Hi everyone!

This is my first time posting so I hope I am doing it right :)

My husband, 3 kids (girl 11, girl 10, boy 8) and I are going to Alaska for the first time.

We all love the outdoors, wildlife, hiking and I really enjoy wildlife photography. The kids are always wanting to try new things.

I love planning trips but would like to have your ideas on "must see", opinions on my plan so far and suggestions.

Here is what I have reserved for our August 1st to August 8th trip. (The following have already been deducted from my budget)

Anchorage Airport August 1st (at 1am) so I have 2 nights (31st and 1st) at hotel, reserved in downtown Anchorage.

Rental car from August 1st to August 8th

Kenai National Wildlife refuge (Skilak), 2 nights in a cabin August 3rd-4th

We have $3000 left in our budget to reserve the rest of our nights and activities (I don’t count food and gas in this budget).

What I have been looking to do, not in any particular order, open to other ideas, town to visit, activities.

Denali for 1 or 2 nights? in a B&B or hotel in the surrounding village. Any suggestions where?

Take a plane tour to view Mt McKinley

Take a glacier/wildlife viewing boat tour out of Seward, I looked at Kenai fjord tours, but seems too many passenger/boat.

I just emailed Salt water lodge to see if they have a special price for children for their combo fishing/wildlife viewing just like their wildlife viewing. One of my children and me don’t fish so I would like to get a little of everything so everyone is happy

Alaska sea life center

Maybe kayak or canoe (couple hours only)