We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

West Coast Dream trip

N.IRELAND
Level Contributor
6 posts
41 reviews
Save Topic
West Coast Dream trip

Im taking my wife and three children(15,12,6) on a 21 night Holiday of the west coast and Las Vegas(1st July 2013). I dont want to drive as i drive for a living. Our must see's are LA , San Fran, Vegas + Grand Canyon. Im very open to other suggestion's for what to see and do and how we will get around. Please help, the more i look online the more confused i get. Its my wife's 40th Birthday next year and i really want this to be a special trip for her and all of us. Thanks

Mentioned in this post
San Francisco...
Destination Expert
for San Francisco
Level Contributor
57,331 posts
149 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: West Coast Dream trip

Where are you planning to fly into ? Please remember that July is nice along the coast but hot in the Desert and in Vegas

Are you planning to do a round trip or leave from another city ? One way to do it is

One needs to drive to see these places or you will be missing out on a lot. One can fly between places but I'm not sure that would be my dream vacation.

Also it would be good to know what you and your family like to do ? More coast or cities, hikes, beaches etc ?

This is the usual route. If you dont want to drive. You could do a few tours and then fly between cities

SF ,Yosemite, Monterey/Carmel, Cambria or Pismo, Los Angeles (Anaheim if you want to do Disneyland) San Diego (fly or drive to) Vegas and then Grand Canyon back to Vegas to fly out.

Edited: 29 May 2012, 19:57
Mentioned in this post
Monterey
Monterey
Monterey County, CA
Carmel
Carmel
Monterey County, CA
Cambria
Cambria
San Luis Obispo County, CA
Los Angeles
Los Angeles
California
Anaheim
Anaheim
Orange County, CA
San Diego
San Diego
California
Florida