We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Denver to Moab - where to stopover

Ely, UK
Level Contributor
26 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Denver to Moab - where to stopover

Hi Folks,

I am flying into Denver and driving to Moab to visit Arches/Canyonlands etc. I've read the drive is around 6 hours and I arrive in Denver late-afternoon on Friday 22 June. I'd like to get a few hours under my belt, stopover somewhere overnight and then take the next day to complete the drive. I'm after some travel advice.

I am a keen photographer (landscapes) and so can someone recommend any "must-see" places on the way that are worth a detour? Is the drive scenic? When it comes to a stopver can someone suggest a place 2-3 hours along the way from Denver? As I'll be in Houston before this trip I'd prefer a small town with great scenery around it. I was thinking of Colorado Springs, but looks to city-like !

Thanks

Graham

Uden, The...
Destination Expert
for Road Trips
Level Contributor
60,942 posts
42 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Denver to Moab - where to stopover

Hi Graham.

Although CS is a great place to visit, it's not on your route from Denver i/a to Moab driving I70 most of the time. BTW this is also a beautiful drive on I70, try to make a couple of stops on your way just off the interstate.

For great scenery and an overnight stay try Dillon at Lake Dillon. It's 2-2.5 hours from the a/p. Depends on traffic. We didnot make many other stops along this route but detoured near Grand Junction for a visit to Colorado NM which was very worth the effort. In Utah take exit 214 and make a short stop in Cisco. Ghosttwon or not? Hope Co experts can give you more info on other places worth a detour.

Tet

Ely, UK
Level Contributor
26 posts
1 review
Save Reply
2. Re: Denver to Moab - where to stopover

Hi Tet,