We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Where oh where do I go to Spa, Ski, & relax in Colorado?

Minneapolis...
Level Contributor
54 posts
7 reviews
Save Topic
Where oh where do I go to Spa, Ski, & relax in Colorado?

Help! I would like to take a trip to CO but am so confused about where to go. My main priority would be to stay in a hotel that has an on-site spa, excellent sheets and of course, superior service. I guess it goes without saying that we would like to be able to ski but probably only 1-2 days of skiing. I am a novice and my husband is fairly accomplished (but primarily an East Coast skier).

We also love nice dining (wine, steak, a beautiful wedge salad) and are pretty social people so will make friends wherever we go. We don't mind "off the beaten path" and don't want to feel like we are being "herded" but do want some activities to do (mainly the aforementioned).

Where should we go? I'm so confused about whether Vail, Steamboat, Avon, Beaver Creak or even Telluride would be the best pick...

Can anyone comment on the Lodge and Spa at Cordillera? I was about to book it when I saw a review saying the spa was "icky". I do not want to be disappointed by the spa!!! and apparently rooms are outdated? Please let me know if you have insight.

If it helps, my favorite spa on the East Coast is the "Top Notch Resort and Spa" www.topnotchresort.com/vermont-day-spas.php in Vermont - would love something comparable but cannot pay $800/night for the Ritz (maybe $250/night).

Hubby can't get out of work obligations during March so we are planning to go during the first 2 weeks in April.

Will skiing still be good?

I know I'm asking for a lot. Any advice welcome!

Vail, Colorado
Destination Expert
for Vail
Level Contributor
1,304 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply